Deadline Credit/No Credit
Oct. 06, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 11, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 12, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 13, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 14, All day

Volleyball vs. Kansas State
Oct. 01, 06:30 pm
Soccer vs. Oklahoma St.
Oct. 03, 07:00 pm
Volleyball vs. Texas
Oct. 05, 01:00 pm
Soccer vs. Missouri St.
Oct. 05, 01:00 pm
Late Night in the Phog
Oct. 10, 06:30 pm

  • Home
  • Find Resources
  • Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

A

  • Contains full text content from publications of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and some regional geological surveys. This online subscription is provided through the AAPG Foundation Digital Products Fund, by an endowment established by Kansas alumni William L. Fisher, M.S. 1958, Ph.D. 1961, and Marilee B. Fisher, B.S. 1958.

    Full Record
  • Contains editorially-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management.

    Full Record
  • Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. This also includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.

    Full Record
  • Indexes essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly

    Full Record
  • Access peer-reviewed, full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Use PowerSearch to search Academic OneFile, General OneFile, and Custom Newspapers simultaneously.

    Full Record
  • This collection includes over 10,000 titles from across all academic disciplines, as well as, general interest periodicals. 

    Full Record
  • See: Alexander Street Press 

    Full Record
  • Engineering handbooks and reference materials from McGraw-Hill.

    Full Record
  • This curricular resource for pharmacy education includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more. Mobile access requires a personal profile username and password.

    Full Record
  • Search the 10th edition of McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology for authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. (Restricted to 2 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full-text for articles published in ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings.

    Full Record
  • Provides online full-text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society contained in two databases: ACS Web editions; and ACS Journal archives.

    Full Record
  • Search the full text of publications of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) from 1997 to the present. 

    Full Record
  • With over 5000 bibliographic citations added per year, the Africa Bibliography is one of the most important current bibliographies for the study of Africa. Its geographical scope is continent-wide, listing monographs, articles, and chapters within edited works. Its subject scope is principally in the social and environmental studies, development studies, the humanities and the arts. The medical, biological and natural sciences are only selectively covered. It lists resources published in English, French, Portuguese, Italian, German, Kiswahili, Spanish, and Afrikaans.

    Full Record
  • Includes a collection of 50 separate databases that provide extensive coverage documenting research and publication by and about Africa and Africans. The total collection provides access to four million citations, including news sources, scholarly articles, monographs, research reports, theses, and grey literature. Records include useful abstracts whenever available from the contributing source, and some full text availability. The collection is divided into three database clusters, namely African HealthLine, African Studies (General), and South African Studies. For a listing of the databases included in each of these modules, as well as searching tips, see the LibGuide Africa-Wide Information (formerly, Africa-Wide NIPAD) . This collection of resources is essential for all aspects of Africa-related research.

    Full Record
  • A free online source that includes two databases: African Women Bibliographic Database and Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database. The former has citations on English language articles, monographs, conference papers, theses, etc. published since 1986. The latter provides access to nearly 50,000 English language citations to articles published in 450 journals since the mid-19th century. Both databases are searchable by region, country, pre-determined subject categories, and by keyword.

    Full Record
  • Search the full text of eight African American newspapers with coverage from 1827 to 1902.  Frederick Douglass' Paper is among the included titles. 

    Full Record
  • Search the full text of over 270 African American newspapers with coverage from 1827 to 1998.

    Full Record
  • African Development Indicators (ADI) is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. It also brings an essay on a key topic for Africa, and this year's theme is the long term growth challenges of the continent. For additional World Bank resources, please click here.

    Full Record
  • AJOL, a non-profit organization based in South Africa, seeks to bring together in one place as many of the scholarly journals published in Africa as possible, thus enhancing access to African contributions to scholarship. The database includes online access to the content of over 430 journals published in 35 African countries. These journals cover the full range of academic disciplines, with strong sections on medicine and health, agriculture, pure and applied sciences, environmental studies, and over two dozen interdisciplinary journals pertaining to African studies generally. Includes journals published primarily in English and French. User authentication with user name and password are required to enter the site.

    Full Record
  • Includes citations to material acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions and is the most comprehensive source of bibliographic information covering U.S. agricultural and life sciences.

    Full Record
  • This aggregated database provides access to all of KU’s Alexander Street Press collections.  Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included.  In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources. 

    Full Record
  • Reproduces in electronic format the 14 volumes of the All-Russia Population Census--the first census in the Russian Federation--which took place on October 9-16, 2002. Census data and text is available in both Russian and in English translation.

    Full Record
  • Provides easy access to the latest news from and about Africa, with over 700 news stories posted daily for all areas of the African continent. Also available is a 400,000-item searchable archive dating from 1997 to the present. Coverage includes the contents of 127 currently published African newspapers, as well as news feeds from 330 additional African and international news organizations. Articles are sorted by region, topic, and language (English or French). AllAfrica.com is generally considered to be the best source for current news on Africa.

    Full Record
  • Indexes the last twenty years of North America's alternative press, with citations drawn from alternative, radical, and leftist publications. 

    Full Record
  • Indexes the alternative press in North America, with citations from alternative, radical, and leftist publications. Coverage is from 1969 to 1990.

    Full Record
  • Educational science and history DVDs....plus the BBC Shakespeare Collection and other

    Full Record
  • This database provides access to Kansas titles from African American newspapers, 1827-1998 and another thirteen papers.  Content covers from 1851 to 1909 and includes the Emporia Gazette.

    Full Record
  • Formerly America's Newspapers, this database contains newspapers from all 50 states. Coverage of each newspaper varies and paid ads are excluded. Selective access is included to Lawrence Journal World and the Kansas City Star.

    Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. 

    Full Record
  • Covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

    Full Record
  • Originally created by Historical Data Systems, Inc., the database contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. 

    Full Record
  • Presents a collection of American Civil War (1861-1865) letters, diaries, memoirs and biographies written between 1855 and 1875, including material that is previously unpublished. Covers the military, social, economic, and political aspects of the war. Full Record
  • Contains information on American companies that have a substantial investment in overseas operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary, affiliate or branch.

    Full Record
  • The collection contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries covering all aspects of American history.

    Full Record
  • Search sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library dating from the 1500s through the 1990s.  Materials range from maps to manuscripts to newspapers and cover all of North America. 

    Full Record
  • Access scholarly biographies of deceased Americans of significant historical importance. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from 1741 through 1940.

    Full Record
  • Search or browse U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.

    Full Record
  • This digital collection of primary sources from the Everett D Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library contains over 300 manuscripts, broadsides, maps, and rare printed works. Material in the collection ranges from 1722 to 1939, with the majority covering 1830 to 1839.

    Full Record
  • Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. This electronic version covers from 1924 to 2011. 

    Full Record
  • Provides searchable abstracts and full-text access to articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences in the Annual Reviews publications. Full Record
  • A combination of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature, this resource indexes  bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archeology, and related disciplines (Restricted to 10 simultaneous users). 

    Full Record
  • Search the publications of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), including articles, books, and newsletters. 

    Full Record
  • Access over 180 years of the photographs, sound bites, and graphics from the archives of the Associated Press.  (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.) 

    Full Record
  • Over 2000 titles are included in the Chinese ebooks and eReference databases. The introduction guide with the Viewer information can be accessed from the main page top right corner "Help" link. When at the Apabi site, you will see two buttons: the Online Browse 在线阅读 will allow you to read the book online, and the Borrow 借阅 will let you check-out/download the book for a maximum of 2 weeks. A checked-out book has more functionalities than browsing the same book online. You need to have the Apabi Reader here to read checked-out books. Due to copyright restrictions, direct printing is not available for Apabi ebooks. To activate copy-and-paste mode, click on the cursor icon next to the hand icon in the toolbar. Check-out download takes a few moments, and navigation may be slow at the first few minutes. Note that annotations you make in a book is computer specific. You can also download Apabi Reader for other electronic devices here

    Full Record
  • Indexing and abstracts from 1983 to the present for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications.

    Full Record
  • Chronicles the Arab-Israeli conflict from 1917-1970. This resource contains primary source documents that chronicle the politics, wars, administration and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

    Full Record
  • Covers 18 magazines between 1982 and the present. You may search by building type, architect/designer, location of building, or a combination of the above. You may also search by subject. Updated annually.

    Full Record
  • A directory that describes collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland.

    Full Record
  • Detailed archival collection descriptions concerning historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials.

    Full Record
  • Contains indexing and abstracting dating from 1984 for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations on the subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, & design; journals are primarily but not exclusively English-language; full-text articles from over 300 journals dating from 1995; also indexes nearly 200,000 art reproductions that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements. Can be combined with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage to 1929.

    Full Record
  • Access to this collection is available through the Art & Cultural Heritage collection.

    Full Record
  • Art Index Retrospective provides citation indexing of fine art, decorative art, and commercial art journals, yearbooks and museum publications from 1929-1984. Uses English-language searching to cover periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Dutch, and Swedish. References artwork that illustrates articles or appears in advertisements, listing the works under the artists' names with full bibliographic citations. Includes citations to 25,000 book reviews. Database is searchable by keyword, subject heading, personal name, article title word, organization, publication, and year. Users also have the option of saving, printing, or e-mailing the results of each search. Art Full Text extends coverage to the present.

    Full Record
  • ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides citations with abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Although some entries date back to the late 1960s, ABM's coverage generally begins in 1974 and includes art topics from the late 19th century onwards and photography since its invention in 1839. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. ABM covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

    Full Record
  • Consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.

    Full Record
  • The online version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index has been incorporated into the Web of Science database.

    Full Record
  • Arts:Search consists of three databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR), Arts + Architecture ProFILES, Arts: Search Research Guides, and Review. Design Abstracts Retrospective is a new ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century. Arts + Architecture ProFILES is a dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects whose work is discussed or illustrated in the journals and yearbooks covered by DAR. Arts:Search Reseach Guides contain other internet sources of biographical information and digitized art, architecture, desing and craft journals. ReVIEW is an ongoing project to digitize many of the most important decorative and fine arts journals published in Europe and the USA during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

    Full Record
  • Provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Available features include: searching, browsing, & organizing images; adding images; presenting images; and integrating with courseware. For detailed information about content and usage, see ARTstor Help and Tutorials. For professor account details, contact eaid@ku.edu.

    Full Record
  • Collection of electronic pre-prints, and e-print service, in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science and computer science.

    Full Record
  • A free database that succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre, Leiden, since 1968 first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (Z3501 .L37 Watson Library Reference). Indexes approximately 350 journals in African studies. Abstracts are 1-2 paragraphs in length and very useful for subject analysis.

    Full Record
  • Indexes the large body of technical literature and journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

    Full Record
  • AskART is an online database listing over 52,000 American artists from the early 16th-century through the present. Criteria for artist inclusion are that the artist was born in the United States, spent a significant part of his/her career here, or, although briefly in residence, created work of ongoing historical interest to Americans. Includes extensive biographical information about American artists as well as book and periodical references, auction records and images. Over 5,000 Museums and dealers that specialize in American artists are also referenced.

    Full Record
  • The ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Collection indexes the Society's  technical literature and the Full text of the ASME Transaction Journals from 2000 to the present and ASME Conference Proceedings 2008 to the present.

    Full Record
  • News Features & Internal Communication:  The news features, dating from 1940, include news analysis, human interest stories, and entertainment and sports reporting.

    Bureau Collection: This collection offers access to records from the AP's Atlanta, Austin, Birmingham, Chicago, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.

    Washington, D.C. Bureaus Collection: Washington D.C Bureau provides access to records covering the years 1952-2009.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to active ASTM Standards, and the ASTM Digital Library, which includes full-text access to symposia and special technical publications. Click "Yes, I agree with the License" to access the database.

    Full Record
  • See: NASA Astrophysics Data System

    Full Record
  • Indexes religious studies periodicals, essays in multi-author works, reviews in religion, research in ministry, and includes the Methodist Reviews Index.

    Full Record
  • Search the full text of the South's largest African American newspaper.

    Full Record
  • Authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works with coverage from 1780 to the present. Selected critical articles and creative writing are in full text.

    Full Record
  • Indexing and abstracts for journal articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Indexing for 284 current journals and 3,075 retrospective journals.

    From the 1930s to the present with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s.

    Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities