Databases A-Z

D

  • Ming shi lu is the collective name for the official annals of the emperors of Ming China (1368-1644). Each ‚Äúshi lu‚Äù is the account of one emperor's reign and was compiled after the emperor's death from a number of sources created during his reign. The entire collection is available as a full-text searchable database. Full Record
  • This database provides fully searchable access to the standard dictionaries of medieval Latin, including: Blaise, Albert. Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs chrétiens -- Blaise, Albert. Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs du moyen age -- Du Cange, Charles. Glossarium ad scriptores mediae et infirmae latinitatis -- Firmini verris dictionarius -- Forcellini, Egidio. Lexicon Totius Latinitatis -- Forcellini, Egidio. Onomasticon totius latinitatis -- Lewis & Short Latin dictionary -- Souter, Alexander. Glossary of Later Latin to 600 A.D. (Access restricted to 3 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • This is a full text database of more than 580 Korean scholarly journals in various disciplines. All journals are covered from the first issue. Full Record
  • The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract. Updated monthly. Full Record
  • Biographical entries covering the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland. 

    Full Record
  • Muller's Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB) is a compilation of Buddhist terms and texts--as well as names of temples, schools, and people--found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. The dictionary project, which began in 1986, is thought to be the most comprehensive compilation of Buddhist terms available in English today. Full Record
  • This is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.  KU's Kenneth Spencer Research Library is a contributing partner. 

    Full Record
  • Covers free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages.

    Full Record
  • Dissertation Abstracts International has been replaced by ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Full Record
  • Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of KU dissertations published after 1996 and KU theses published after 2005. Full Record
  • DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) is a streaming audio database, based on the music available on the New World Records and CRI labels. Music available on other smaller, independent American labels are also available on DRAM Full Record
  • See: PsychiatryOnline. Full Record
  • DuXiu is a Chinese database with a discovery search system of more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million scholarly resources in all subjects and formats (books, journal articles, newspapers, theses, conference proceedings, videos, and webpages). Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities