Databases A-Z

  • The Index of Christian Art database presently contains over 20,000 work of art records which are accompanied by over sixty thousand images in color and black and white. Many of these images have never before been digitized and are published here for the first time. The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. Access to the database is possible on a predetermined number of levels from Browse to Simple Find to Advanced Find Level catering to the inexperienced to the expert user. The database is periodically updated as works of art are catalogued.
    Publisher:
    Princeton University
    Type:
    Article indexes, Images
    Rights:
    Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities