Databases A-Z

  • Includes a collection of 50 separate databases that provide extensive coverage documenting research and publication by and about Africa and Africans. The total collection provides access to four million citations, including news sources, scholarly articles, monographs, research reports, theses, and grey literature. Records include useful abstracts whenever available from the contributing source, and some full text availability. The collection is divided into three database clusters, namely African HealthLine, African Studies (General), and South African Studies. For a listing of the databases included in each of these modules, as well as searching tips, see the LibGuide Africa-Wide Information (formerly, Africa-Wide NIPAD) . This collection of resources is essential for all aspects of Africa-related research.

    Publisher:
    EBSCOHost
    Type:
    Article indexes
    Rights:
    Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities