Databases A-Z

  • See: CAJ Database

    Publisher:
    Type:
    Rights:
    Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
  • Contains over 1,100 evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients such as herbs, vitamins, minerals, or dietary supplements.  The monographs are created by a team of pharmacists and physicians and other healthcare professionals based on their review of the research literature. Information provided includes alternative names, scientific names, uses, safety, effectiveness ratings, mechanism of action, adverse reactions, interactions, drug influences on nutrient levels and depletion, dosage and administration, editor’s comments, and references.  A brand name search provides a listing of ingredients that is linked to the ingredient monographs.  The database also includes a condition search which generates a report on the condition searched (e.g. hypertension) listing natural products used to treat the condition along with their effectiveness ratings.

    Publisher:
    Therapeutic Research Faculty
    Type:
    Article indexes
    Rights:
    Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities