Databases A-Z

G

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a wide variety of reference materials. The collection includes publications covering a wide variety of subject matters, such as, history, biography, literature, medicine, health, sociology, and education. Full Record
  • This is the online version of the printed Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, a standard source of information for ethnomusicology studies. Full Record
  • Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporates the publication Women "R". Full Record
  • A collection of nearly 600 genealogy research and reference publications in searchable PDF format. Provided by the State Library of Kansas. Full Record
  • General OneFile indexes newspapers, newswires and a collection of refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, general interest magazines as well as specialty titles in law, health care and computers. General OneFile includes more than 4,200 full-text titles; five newspaper indexes -- a total of nearly 8,000 titles in all with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present. If you wish to power search General OneFile along with Academic OneFile and Custom Newspapers, please click here. Full Record
  • A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef. Full Record
  • The collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s. The online resource delivers images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works on the evolution of feminist consciousness and women's rights. It includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in fifteen languages. Full Record
  • GEM is the World Bank's portal for analysis of current economic trends, and economic and financial indicators. GEM features up-to-date analysis on global economic conditions, including a daily brief and event-driven focus reports, direct access to high-frequency datasets via Quick Query, forecasts for commodity prices and main macroeconomic indicators for over 130 countries. For additional World Bank resources, please click here. Full Record
  • The largest, most comprehensive resource for K-12 math and science educators. GoENC.com provides thousands of online lesson plans and activities to support standards-based teaching with a searchable catalog of math and science curriculum resources and online articles.

    Full Record
  • Google Book Search is a discovery tool for books. Click a book title and you'll see the Snippet View which, like a card catalog, shows information about the book plus a few snippets - a few sentences of your search term in context. You may also see the Sample Pages View if the publisher or author has given Google permission or the Full Book View if the book is out of copyright. Links are also provided to book reviews, synopses, sources to purchase the book, and to libraries that hold the books. Full Record
  • Google News is a computer-generated news site that aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together. Full Record
  • Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Full Record
  • Russian Government and Parliamentary Publications (UDB-GOV) monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts as well as auxiliary information such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The Database includes Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government's resolutions and the Constitutional Court's decisions are also available as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo. Full Record
  • A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Full Record
  • Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. This resource provides news, video, primary source documents and more through topic, organization, and country portals. Full Record
  • An encyclopedia of art based on The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the text. Includes over 45,000 articles, cross references within the text, and over 40,000 links to art images in galleries and museums around the world. Articles are written and signed by scholars and include bibliographic references. Users looking for information on archaeology, architecture, art, design, costume, landscape design, and photography from all world cultures and all time periods will find this an invaluable resource. Easy to use for the novice but with in-depth searching options for the more experienced researcher. Issued as part of: Oxford art online. Full Record
  • Grove Music Online offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations. It includes 50,000 signed articles and 28,000 biographies. It is the most comprehensive source of information on all aspects of music in English. Full Record
  • Guide to Reference is a selective guide to the best reference sources, organized by academic discipline. An editorial team of reference librarians and subject experts have selected and annotated some 16,000 entries, both print and web-based, free and subscription. Users in libraries subscribing to Guide to Reference can set up a profile to create and save lists and notes to use in their reference and research work. This subscription database, published by the American Library Association, is updated on an ongoing basis. Full Record
  • Full-text scholarly monographs covering all areas of history, available originally and exclusively as digital books, presented by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities