• Home
  • Find Resources
  • Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

M

  • Provides full-text searching and digital images of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. These legal history resources cover many topics of interest to general researchers.

    Full Record
  • Offers online access to early state codes, city charters, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history. Dates of coverage range from 1620-1970. Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University.

    Full Record
  • Provides full-text searching and digital images of thousands of books and pamphlets covering major and minor trials of English-speaking jurisdictions and English-language trials in other jurisdictions. Materials include unofficially published accounts of trials, as well as briefs, arguments and other trial documents where these were printed as separate publications. These legal history resources are also useful in the social sciences and reveal elements of the lives of ordinary people. Topics covered include: adultery, commercial law, conspiracy, constitutional law, crimes against persons, domestic relations, dueling, elections, impeachment, international law, land, libel, military offenses, murder, slavery, theft, torts, treason and wills, among many other subjects.

    Full Record
  • This online language learning service offers two options per language: Mango Complete, a 100 lesson course designed to provide an understanding of a language and its culture and Mango Basic, which teaches everyday phrases and greetings. More than 40 foreign language courses are available and 16 English as a Second Language courses. Mango is offered through the State Library of Kansas. You will be required to set up a personal profile and log in to Mango.

    Full Record
  • Presents comparative business statistics in a clear, straightforward manner, providing  detailed overviews of international companies, products and services. Includes more than 2,000 entries on a wide range of topics, from global positioning systems to laboratory equipment. Entries typically include: a description; a summary of the size of the market; a breakdown of market share by percentage; complete source citation; subject categories; SIC and NAICS code(s). Historical data allows researchers to track market trends over time, providing insight into virtually any industry. Dates of coverage: 1991 to present.

    Full Record
  • Provides biographies of living leaders and achievers from around the world in the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, and entertainment and is updated daily. Five of the most popular collections can be searched separately: Who's Who in America; Who's Who in the World; Who‚'s Who in American History; Who's Who in American Art; and Who's Who in American Politics.

    Full Record
  • Consists of reviews, abstracts and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. It is produced by the American Mathematical Society and includes over 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. It provides citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews based on the reference lists from over 550 journals. Bibliographic data for articles provided starting in early 1800s.

    Full Record
  • The MD Consult core collection is a comprehensive medical information source with access to full-text articles from over 80 medical journals, 50 major medical reference books, drug information, and patient education sources. Full Record
  • A project to digitize public domain journals in the history of film, radio, and sound recordings covering the years 1903 to 1995. Full Record
  • A collection of medical research and investigatory journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains the table of contents and full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals. Full Record
  • Provides indexing and abstracts to the biomedical and life sciences literature. MEDLINE can also be searched through the Web of Knowledge platform. MEDLINE is also the largest component of PubMed. Dates of coverage: 1949 to present. Full Record
  • MedlinePlus is an authoritative source of general information on health topics provided from the National Library of Medline, the National Institutes of Health and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Both health professionals and consumers can depend on it for authoritative and up to date information. It includes information on diseases and conditions, lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and the latest health news. Full Record
  • Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests. Contains the text of the Buros Institute'sYearbooks. Tests in Print includes current information about test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, and test authors. (Restricted to 8 simultaneous users.) Full Record
  • Meteorological & geoastrophysical abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included. Full Record
  • A systematic, and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually. Coverage includes the following fields: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs: business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements, and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. Full Record
  • Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and U.S. government. Includes full text for nearly 300 journals. Full Record
  • Russian Military and Security Periodicals (UDB-MIL) includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources. All branches of the armed forces are covered by this database, including the Russian Air Force, Army and Navy. Equally important, the database includes a trove of English-language sources. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions. It is the only resource of its kind. Full Record
  • Mintel provides users access to market research reports in the US, UK and European markets. Reports span a variety of topics, and include automotive, consumer lifestyles, electrical products, foods and food service, health and leisure time, retail, technology, and more. You must create a personal profile using your KU e-mail address. Full Record
  • The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. To directly access the MLA Directory of Periodicals, please click here. Full Record
  • Digitized searchable version of the catalog produced by the Government Printing Office covering the years 1895-1976. This database provides indexing to the plethora of government publications and the SuDoc (Superintendant of Documents classification number) assigned to each title. The Federal Depository collection here at KU is shelved by SuDoc number. Note: Please use the KU Catalog or the database Catalog of U.S. Government publications for items published and cataloged by the Government Printing Office 1976-present and this ProQuest database for cataloging from 1895-1976. Full Record
  • Contains records for items in the Moore Reading Room at the University of Kansas Dept. of Religious Studies.

    Full Record
  • Indexes journal articles covering classical, popular, and world music. Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities