• Home
  • Find Resources
  • Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

N

  • See: ProQuest Vault: NAACP papers

    Full Record
  •  A NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records and abstracts of articles and monographs which are searchable and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed. The databases cover all the major journals, many minor journals, conference proceedings, several observatory reports and newsletters, many NASA reports, and PhD theses. In addition to its databases, the ADS provides access to scanned images of articles from most of the major and most smaller astronomical journals, as well as several conference proceedings series and points to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives.

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive online resource on politics and policy, including selective full-text access to several distinct journals, including: National Journal online & CongressDaily.

    Full Record
  • Contains over 1,100 evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients such as herbs, vitamins, minerals, or dietary supplements.  The monographs are created by a team of pharmacists and physicians and other healthcare professionals based on their review of the research literature. Information provided includes alternative names, scientific names, uses, safety, effectiveness ratings, mechanism of action, adverse reactions, interactions, drug influences on nutrient levels and depletion, dosage and administration, editor’s comments, and references.  A brand name search provides a listing of ingredients that is linked to the ingredient monographs.  The database also includes a condition search which generates a report on the condition searched (e.g. hypertension) listing natural products used to treat the condition along with their effectiveness ratings.

    Full Record
  • Evidence-based information compiled by healthcare professionals and researchers on complementary and alternative medicine such as dietary supplements and integrative therapies.  Each product or therapy is assigned a grade to reflect the weight of scientific evidence for or against its use to treat a specific medical condition.

    License requires all users authenticate with KU Online ID and password – including those on campus.

    Full Record
  • A streaming audio source for classical music. It includes all the music issued on Naxos, Marco Polo, Da Capo, plus selections from 100+ other labels. Currently, there are 550,000+ tracks of music from 39,000 discs. (Restricted to 10 simultaneous users.) For professor account details, contact George Gibbs or Jim Smith in the Music Library.

    Full Record
  • A streaming audio database of 30,000+ tracks of jazz from 3,000+ albums. Includes music from Naxos, Fantasy, Prestige, Pablo, and other labels. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.) For professor account details, contact George Gibbs or Jim Smith in the Music Library.

    Full Record
  • A database of over 45,000 works for consultation or downloading. A plug-in is required for transposing, listening, and optimized printing. For instructions on loading and using the software please click here. This software is installed on public computers in Gorton Music and Dance Library only. For professor account details, contact George Gibbs or Jim Smith in the Music Library.

    Full Record
  • Provides an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • A collection of economists' papers in progress, presenting initial research with intent to receive feedback and comment from the professional community.

    Full Record
  • Contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.

    Full Record
  • Online resource with over 1,850 topical articles contributed by 1,500 economists. Resource will be updated and enhanced on a quarterly basis. System capabilities include active links between articles, printing, mathematical equations viewing (MathML), and Open URL.

    Full Record
  • Documents the past of New York's African American community, including the Harlem Renaissance, the desegregation of the U.S. Military and the Civil Rights Movement.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to full page and article images with searchable full-text from 1851 to 4 years ago.

    Full Record
  • Provides news on events, arts, sports, business and finance, and New York society from pre-Civil War until the early 20th century.

    Full Record
  • Provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers and selective full text for 410 U.S newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.

    Full Record
  • Online database version of the 50 volumes of Japanese historical gazetteer, published by Heibonsha. Includes 200,000 headings with detailed explanation of the place name. Continuously updated.

    An optional database of JapanKnowledge Lib. When using other JK products while using this database, please open a different browser to login smoothly.  Internet Explorer and Google Chrome are recommended browsers, though other browsers can be used.

     

    Full Record
  • One of the best researched and written African American newspapers of its era. 

    Full Record
  • Provides a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Included are approximately 100,000 pages of primary source such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, political cartoons, and oral histories. Materials included cover a period from approximately 1840 to the present, with most of the focus on the period from 1890 to 1920. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island oral history interviews are indexed and searchable as well.

    Full Record
  • Describes both fiction and nonfiction book titles for all ages. NoveList includes book lists, discussion guides, award lists, and feature articles.

    Full Record
  • Provides indexing and abstracts to technical reports from both U.S. and non-U.S. sponsored research. Compiled by the U.S. National Technical Information Service, the database covers topics in the sciences, engineering, business, and social sciences. Reports received since 1997 are available as downloadable PDF files. Publications under 20 pages are free.

    Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities