• Home
  • Find Resources
  • Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

O

  • Contains records of open archive digital resources that lead to digitized books, articles, audio & video files, data sets, theses and more. Freely available material accessible through institutional respositories like KU ScholarWorks are searched through OAIster.

    Full Record
  • Provides indexing, abstracting and full-text content to articles in a variety of disciplines.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to technical literature on oil and gas exploration and production produced by nine or more organizations, including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) and the American Petroleum Institute (API). Some content from some of the organizations covers other topics, including energy, corrosion, and road and subway tunnels. SPE manages the database. Content from at least one participating organization goes back as far as 1927.

    Full Record
  • Contains the accumulated entries published in the journal Current Geographical Publications. This database continues the Research Catalogue of the American Geographical Society.

    Full Record
  • Provides streaming video access to full-length performances by some of today's artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.

    Full Record
  • Contains an index and links to editorially vetted, Web-based oral histories in English in archives and libraries around the world, with links to full text, audio, and video when available. It also contains tens of thousands of in-copyright, full-text interviews from proprietary collections.

    Full Record
  • Provides online access to reference resources in African American studies, including the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, Black Women in America, and Africana, a history of the African American experience. Includes African American National Biography project, edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture. Offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works(Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Allows simultaneous searching of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Content includes biographies, subject entries, images and learning resources.

    Full Record
  • Provides expert commentary. Subject coverage includes: African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Chinese Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Latino Studies, International Law, International Relations, and Sociology.

    Full Record
  • Contains a collection of 55,000 specially written and illustrated biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. (Restricted to 3 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is the guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The Historical Thesaurus is a taxonomic arrangement of the contents of the OED.

    Full Record
  • Features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. (Restricted to 3 simultaneous users)

    Full Record
  • Provides full-text online access to most of the electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

    Full Record
  • Provides authoritative, up-to-date translations in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese with native speaker audio pronunciation. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

    Full Record
  • Oxford Music Online allows the simultaneous searching of The New Grove Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition; The Oxford Dictionary of Music; and The Oxford Companion to Music.

    Full Record
  • Cross-searchable online database of Oxford University Press subject dictionaries and reference works. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • The list of famous philosophy books stretches back through the twentieth century and beyond and includes work by eminent philosophers and leading scholars. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities