• Home
  • Find Resources
  • Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

S

  • An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covers a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean

    Full Record
  • Produced by SAE International, this database indexes technical papers, standards, and conference proceedings relating to mobility systems engineering in the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries back to the early 1900s. Full text content is only available for technical reports from 1998 to the present. SAE International was previously the Society of Automotive Engineers.

    Full Record
  • Includes a variety of computing, programming, and information technology books. KU has access to all the titles in the database published in the current year + 2 previous years. When you have completed your search session, please click on "log out." (Restricted to 3 simultaneous users).

    Full Record
  • Indexes SAGE publications in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine and includes full-text access to some of the content.

    Full Record
  • Previously Sage Reference, this source contains a selection of encyclopedias and other ready-reference books covering a range of subjects in the social sciences disciplines.

    Full Record
  • An electronic virtual library covering a selected collection of scientific journals of Latin America, the Caribbean countries and Spain. As the project develops, new journal titles will be added in the library collection. The full-text content is in English, Portuguese and/or Spanish. 

    Full Record
  • The online version of Science Citation Index has been incorporated into the Web of Science database.

    Full Record
  • Provides citation access to books and over 2,000 journals published by Elsevier in the following disciplines: science, technology, medicine, and social sciences. Full-text content is available to most of the journal titles 1995 to the present.

    Full Record
  • The style guide written by the Council of Science Editors for science and related fields.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to CAplus, MedLine, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Registration is required. The database includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts. The license includes the substructure search module. For guides and tutorials, please click here.

    Full Record
  • FRAANK (Financial Reporting and Auditing Agent with Net Knowledge) gets financial information from 20K and 10Q, parses them, and populates an Excel spreadsheet. Seek-Inf (Search Engine for Extracting Knowledge from Industrial Filings) searches for non-financial and financial information from the following SEC filings: 8K, 10K, 10Q, 13F, DEF, 14A, S-1, Comment Letters, Response Letters, 20F, 40F, and AAERs.

    Full Record
  • See: United States Congressional serial set.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to the more than 50,000 maps published within the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. The maps illuminate a wide variety of topics in U.S. and World history.

    Full Record
  • A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs. 

    Full Record
  • Provides access to the electronic editions of the research journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. Includes recently posted articles scheduled to appear in SIAM's print journals over the next one to two years.

    Full Record
  • Letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage of the times.

    Full Record
  • Provides up-to-date information on topics related to starting a company, operations management, sales, and growing or rescuing a business.

    Full Record
  • This streaming audio service provides access to the complete library of Smithsonian Folkways ethnomusicology recordings.

    Full Record
  • Provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Contains over 15,000 thematic and interactive maps, the entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 data release. Also includes the American Community Survey through the most current release, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000 with the addition of 2010 and other recent data planned. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Provides early access to scholarship by publishing article abstracts and the full-text access to preprints/working papers for leading scholarly journals. The SSRN includes author contact information to facilitate scholarly communication. The networks that make up the SSRN include: accounting; cognitive science; corporate; economics; entrepreneurship; financial; health; information; leadership; legal; management; marketing; negotiations; political; social insurance; classics; English and American literature; philosophy.

    Full Record
  • Provides researchers with the ability to cross-search the contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications.

    Full Record
  • The online version of Social Sciences Citation Index has been incorporated into the Web of Science database.

    Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services.

    Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts journal articles in the fields of social work including homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. (Restricted to 12 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

    Full Record
  • Sovetskaia Kul’tura, as it is known today, is the most important Soviet and Russian publication on culture from 1929 to the present, with reviews of major events in literature, theater, cinematography, and arts. For over 80 years Kul’tura has provided a unique perspective on ever changing attitudes toward arts and culture in Soviet and Russian societies.  Sovetskaia Ku'ltura went through several title changes.  In Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930) artists had relative freedom to create works for the New Soviet man. During the Stalin years, Socialist Realism became the official form of artistic expression that dominated Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), and Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952), which frequently criticized many writers.  Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991) emerged during the thaw of the Khrushchev era. Although some restrictions had eased, the newspaper still toed the party line, censuring modern art exhibitions, avant-garde composers, and abstract painters. During the Gorbachev era, Sovetskaia kul’tura reflected the new cultural awakening.  Today, the newspaper offers interesting reviews and event listings, often focusing on the cultural life of Moscow and the regions. It is also known for its topical commentaries on popular culture and politics.

    Full Record
  • Contains full-text and citation information on the following sports-related topics: exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment. Includes citations to books, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, journal articles; and an extensive microform collection, the bulk of which is from the University of Oregon microfiche collection of North American Dissertations on Sport and Physical Education, dating back to 1949. (Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Contains molecular biology and biomedical protocols from 1980-2012, many from the series, Methods in Molecular Biology, and other methods series from Humana Press. Protocols are documents that provide predefined written procedural methods in the design and implementation of experiments.

    Full Record
  • Provides online full-text access to over 1400 journal titles from 1997 to the present and to books published from 2005 to 2011. Published content is predominantly in the sciences, medicine, technology, business and economics.

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. NetAdvantage offers screening tools, private company information, and the ability to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis. Dates of coverage: Current with some older information (back to 4 years).

    Full Record
  • A reference work and publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. 

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Issues after 2012 are published by Proquest. Issues before 1900 are available from HeinOnline.

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For statistics prior to 2013, please click here.

    Full Record
  • Contains digitized images, with links to full text, of printed items selected from the Kansas Collection of the University of Kansas Libraries.

    Full Record
  • Completely separate from the Times of London, the Sunday times is known for their investigative journalism, providing commentary and analysis of the week's news. To search Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, and Sunday Times Digital Archive together, please click here.

    Full Record
  • A literary journal with writers from around the world founded by Victoria Ocampo in 1931. Contents include literature, film, theatre, art, music, history, and politics. The electronic version offers all pages and images of the 364 issues, including covers and advertisements. It is fully searchable and has a 6300-entry searchable index.

    Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities