Databases A-Z

W

  • The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago. Full Record
  • The Wall Street Journal is the definitive source of business news, with in-depth financial analysis and insightful business profiles. Dates of coverage: 1889 to 17 years ago. Full Record
  • Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1877 up to 16 years ago. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present). Full Record
  • Includes the records of books and journals held in university libraries throughout Japan. Full Record
  • Currently Siku Quanshu is only available on campus, or with a KU IP address (beginning with 129.237). Siku Quanshu is the largest Chinese encyclopedia, compiled during the Qing dynasty (1773-1782) under Emperor Qianlong. This full-text and full image version of the Wenyuange edition, produced and developed by Digital Heritage Publishing Ltd., Hong Kong, contains 3460 titles in over 4000 volumes with more than 800 million characters. To access to Siku Quanshu you must first download the Siku Quanshu Client Reader (Siku Reader). Note: this database can only be properly viewed by Internet Explorer. When using other browsers such as Firefox or Chrome, some of the Chinese characters may not be displayed correctly. Full Record
  • See Marquis biographies online. Full Record
  • Who's Who is published annually and contains short, biographical information on over 33,000 people. It was first published in 1849 and is recognized world-wide as a key source of information on influential people, and people who are leaders in their field. Who Was Who contains the entries from all the previous annual publications, for those who have died. Restricted to 1 simultaneous user. Full Record
  • Provides citation access to books and journals published by Wiley in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full-text content is available to most of the journal titles 1997 to the present. Full Record
  • See: OmniFile full text select. Full Record
  • Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities, organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. This full-text resource also provides learning modules in the form of document projects, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Full Record
  • This resource is a product of Brown University's Women Writers Project, a long term project devoted to making the texts of pre-Victorian writers available online. Includes the texts in the Renaissance Women Online site. Full Record
  • Portal for the World Bank Development Data Development Group that coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Topics include: agriculture, environment, financial sector, health, poverty, and many more. For additional World Bank resources, please click here. Full Record
  • This online collection of streaming video will give faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. World History in Video is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. To search American History in Video and World History in Video together, please click here.

    Full Record
  • Provides timely and pertinent open-source material from non-U.S. media sources. Material provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by analysts from the Open Source Center's (OSC) domestic and overseas bureaus. Successor to the daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) . Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and is compiled from non-U.S. media sources. WNC is the only news service that allows you to take advantage of the intelligence gathering experience of OSC.

    Full Record
  • World Newspaper Archive is the largest fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe--and includes historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, Slavic and East Europe, South Asia and other regions. Providing exact digital replicas of newspapers published in English and a variety of other languages, the World Newspaper Archive chronicles the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Initially the World Newspaper Archive will focus on news from Latin America and the Caribbean, but will eventually encompass the news output of other major regions, including Sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Eastern and Central Europe. Full Record
  • A directory and reference to academic institutions and associated staff across the globe. Includes universities and colleges as well as details on international cultural, scientific, and educational organizations. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.) Full Record
  • Combines historical and contemporary reference and archival materials with current events. It provides primary sources, academic journals, news feeds, reference articles, maps, statistics, etc. Subjects include: area studies, history, political science, international relations, anthropology, sociology, economics, environmental studies, cultural studies, literature, music, the arts and religion. Full Record
  • Includes annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The goal is to add material published or produced since 1900. Each year, coverage will move forward one year and backwards at least three years. Access to this database is provided by KU Libraries through a private gift from Kirk and Jeannie McClure. Full Record
  • World Who's Who brings together current and hard-to-find biographical information on almost 60,000 of the most gifted, famous and influential men and women in all fields. Full Record
  • Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries. Full Record
  • Abstracts and indexes journals in political science, international relations, law, public administration and policy, including the merged backfile of Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI. Some full-text linking. Coverage 1975 - . Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities