Rubinstein/Mason Award

The $1,000 Rubinstein/Mason Award supports graduate study in librarianship and honors the late Joseph Rubinstein, first head of the Libraries' Department of Special Collections, and the late Alexandra Mason, former Spencer Librarian, for their service to scholarship. Preference will be given to students whose primary interest is in special collections librarianship and who have demonstrated a commitment to the standards of principled librarianship exemplified by Joseph Rubinstein and Alexandra Mason in their many years of service to scholarship. Further preference will be given to students who have been employed as assistants in the University of Kansas Libraries and who left service in good standing.

Applicants must:

  • be currently enrolled or recently graduated KU students
  • have been accepted by (or have applied to) a graduate program in librarianship accredited by the American Library Association; (see more information about education for librarianship); award check will be issued upon verification of enrollment in an accredited program
  • submit an application form by May 3, 2021, which includes the name and contact information of a professional reference who can comment on your potential for success as a librarian, a copy of your CV, and a brief statement about your interest in librarianship (300-word maximum)

Please fill out this application form

The recipient will be announced by the Dean of Libraries in June 2021. The award check will be issued upon verification of enrollment in an accredited program.

For questions, please contact Elspeth Healey, Special Collections Librarian, at 785-864-1229 or

KU Today