Support Staff Employee of the Year Award

The Kansas University Libraries Support Staff (KULSS) Employee of the Year was established in 1994 to acknowledge the contributions of Support Staff to the University Libraries. The winner receives a $500 cash award as well as his or her name engraved in a plaque on the third floor of Watson Library. The award announcement is made in September and is formally acknowledged at the Libraries' annual Celebration of Excellence Ceremony.

This award is not intended to recognize “lifetime achievement”. Rather, the award will be chosen and nominations should be based upon work-related criteria in the given year. See the Support Staff Employee of the Year Nomination Form for more details.

To be eligible for nomination, KU Libraries Support Staff (KULSS) must be employed by the University of Kansas Libraries for at least one year prior to the deadline for nominations. Members of the selection committee and anyone who has won the award within the last three years are ineligible.

Nomination Procedures
A call for nominations will be made annually by the Libraries administration. Any person or group of persons affiliated with the University of Kansas, who are not serving as a voting member of the Selection Committee, may nominate an individual. Nominators are asked to complete a Support Staff Employee of the Year Nomination Form.

A Selection Committee is appointed annually by the Dean of Libraries from a slate of names submitted by the Executive Boards of both KULSS and LFPA. The Selection Committee is comprised of two non-voting members: the Libraries' HR Officer and a member of the KULSS-Exec and five voting members: one member of Library Faculty & Professionals Assembly and four Support Staff employees, including a previous winner of the award.

Neither a nominator nor any nominee is eligible to serve on the Selection Committee. Should a member of the Selection Committee receive a nomination for the award, an appropriate replacement will be named to the Selection Committee by the Dean of Libraries.

The Selection Committee will review nominations and conduct interviews of each nominee's supervisor and co-workers, as well as with the person who submitted the nomination. The Committee then votes on a recipient and forwards their recommendation on to the Dean.

All nomination materials will be considered confidential and will be retained in the Library Administrative Office files.

A comprehensive list award recipients are as follows:

2013 Ann Snow, User Services


Eleanora Drury, Interlibrary Loan
Adrienne (Ade) Martinez, Cataloging
Jill Becker, Instructional Services
2009 Erin Pfannensteil, Cataloging
2008 Nishon Hawkins, Interlibrary Loan
2007 Monica Claassen-Wilson, Collection Development
2006 Julie Warrick, Access Services
2005 Channette Kirby, Reference
2004 Doug Hatton, Mail Room
2003 Barb Woodruff, Administration
2002 Toni Taylor, Anschutz Library
2001 Jan Altenbernd, Art/Architecture Library
2000 Carmen Orth-Alfie, Cataloging
1999 Gary Samuelson, Fines Office
1998 Luceil Hamlin, Retrieval Services
1997 Jim Smith, Music Library
1996 Sarah Couch, Access Services
1995 Bayliss Harsh, Reference
1994 Sarah Tubby, Preservation



1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
KU Today