Though our buildings are closed, KU Libraries continues to offer services and resources for remote teaching, learning, and research. Please visit for more information.

KU Libraries accepting nominations for 2nd annual open access award

Monday, August 3, 2015

LAWRENCE –The University of Kansas Libraries announce the second annual Shulenburger Award for Innovation & Advocacy in Scholarly Communication, for which nominations are now open.

The award will be granted for exceptional efforts to advance innovations in open sharing and advocacy for positive change in the scholarly communication system:

  • Two awards selected from nominations of KU Lawrence faculty or staff members (up to $2,000) and/or undergraduate or graduate students involved in a faculty-sponsored project (up to $500)
  • A single award to a KU Lawrence academic department, research center, or school (up to $2,500)

Any individual or unit affiliated with the University of Kansas may nominate an individual, department, school, or center that demonstrates excellence in this area – self nominations are also accepted. A selection committee including the previous year's winners, KU Lawrence faculty from multiple disciplines, and chaired by senior library administrators, will be appointed to review nominations and make recommendations for approval by the interim co-deans of Libraries. The winner will be announced during International Open Access Week, October 19-25.

Additional information about the award, including judging criteria and requested nomination materials can be found at

The nomination deadline is Monday, September 14, at 12pm. Please submit requested nomination materials to Ada Emmett, head of KU Libraries Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright at

Since the 1990’s, former KU Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor David Shulenburger has advocated, locally and nationally, for open access to the results of research. His efforts to push for innovation and greater equity in the access to scholarly endeavors led to campus-wide conversations between an ever-growing number of faculty supporters and the development of infrastructures to support open access to the scholarly literature published at KU. This long history seeded the growth of widespread faculty support, leading to the 2005 launch of KU ScholarWorks and a Faculty Senate resolution in support of better dissemination practices, and culminating in the passage of the Faculty Senate’s Open Access Policy in 2009.

“I made this gift to improve public access to scholarly communication at the University of Kansas,” said Shulenburger in November 2014. “During my time as provost at KU, I made a commitment to expanding open access at KU, and I am pleased with the outstanding progress. The only way to ensure continued growth and continuity of the open access movement is through an endowment.”

Last year’s awards were presented to Marc Greenberg, professor of Slavic Languages & Literatures and director of the School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures, and Town Peterson, university distinguished professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and senior curator at the Biodiversity Institute, two open access advocates committed to carrying on Shulenburger's work. 

KU Today