All KU Libraries locations are currently closed. For information about services and resources for remote teaching, learning, and research, please visit

Snyder Book Collecting Contest winners, finalists honored at KU

Friday, April 15, 2011

The winners of the 55th Snyder Book Collecting Contest at the University of Kansas were honored at a reception on April 14. Dean Lorraine J. Haricombe presented the awards to the students, and John C. Tibbetts, KU film professor and noted collector, delivered a keynote address.

The contest was established by Elizabeth Snyder in 1957 to cultivate and recognize KU undergraduate and graduate students’ interest in collecting books.

In the undergraduate division, Meagan Kane of Overland Park placed first with her collection, “A Genre of One’s Own: Constructing Science Fiction as a Space for Feminist Discourse.” Nathan Cadman of Wichita took second place with “Acting Editions and Contemporary Theater,” and Collin Baffa of Olathe, earned an honorable mention for “A Wealth of Wisdom: Collecting the Classics on a College Budget.”

In the graduate division, Francis Park of Short Pump, Virginia took first place with “Neither Strategy nor Tactics: American and Soviet Operational Art.” Second place went to Jean Marie Trujillo of Lawrence for “Visual Representations of the Andean World,” and John Biersack of Oconomowoc, Wisconsin earned an honorable mention for “Toward a Comprehension of Gilles Deleuze.”

The winner of each division received a $600 prize and a $100 gift card from Jayhawk Ink, a division of the KU Bookstore. Second-place winners received a $400 prize and a $50 gift card from Jayhawk Ink. Honorable mention winners received a $100 prize and a $25 gift card from Jayhawk Ink.

Judges for this year's contest were John C. Tibbetts, who spoke at the event; Susan Thomas, who placed in the graduate division in last year’s contest; and Elspeth Healey, special collections librarian at Spencer Research Library.

For more information about the contest and its history, visit

Connect with KU Libraries

Like KU Libraries on Facebook  Follow KU Libraries on Twitter  Watch KU Libraries on YouTube  Follow KU Libraries' photo stream on Flickr  Follow KU Libraries on Instagram  Follow KU Libraries on Pinterest

Media contacts

Leah Hallstrom
Communications Specialist

KU Today