Though our buildings are closed, KU Libraries continues to offer services and resources for remote teaching, learning, and research. Please visit for more information.

Libraries faculty and staff award winners to be recognized at annual celebration

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

The 2014 KU Libraries faculty and staff award winners will be formally recognized at the Celebration of Excellence on Thursday, September 4.

This year’s award recipients are:

Vickie Doll: Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award

This award is presented annually to a library faculty member who demonstrates meritorious professional performance and service. The 2014 Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award recipient is Vickie Doll. The committee noted Doll’s many years of consistent service, dedication to the long-term health and viability of the East Asian collections, and extensive record of professional advocacy.

Doll was recognized for her willingness to take on leadership roles within the East Asian Library and International Area Studies, as well as her record of progressive promotions within KU Libraries, culminating in her promotion to Librarian in 2014.

Lars Leon: Anschutz-Budig Outstanding Librarian Award

This award is presented annually to a library faculty member who demonstrates outstanding initiative in recent professional performance. The recipient of the 2014 Anschutz-Budig Outstanding Librarian Award is Lars Leon. The committee recognized Leon for his strong record of innovative engagement with cooperative resource sharing processes over past the two years. During the past year, Leon has also extended his area of responsibility to include organizational development.

Malgorzata (Malgosia) Stamm  and Jeromy Horkman: KU Libraries Staff Excellence Award

The Staff Excellence Award was initiated in 2014 to recognize employees who demonstrate a standard of excellence in work and a significant contribution to the University of Kansas Libraries.

The first 2014 KU Libraries Staff Excellence Award recipient is Malgorzata (Malgosia) Stamm, program assistant for Slavic & Eurasian Studies. During the past year, Stamm ordered and processed Slavic and Eurasian books, including a review of Polish materials for transfer to the Library Annex, and she completed processing the Belarusian gift collection The Belarusian gift was 1000+ volumes, obtained for the University of Toronto, which helped KU to become a hub of Belarusian research

This year’s second recipient is Jeromy Horkman, director of public operations. A recent reorganization expanded Horkman’s position to managing facilities issues, policies, procedures and supervising staff within seven of the library locations. Horkman works to ensure library locations are working in concert and presenting a united front to the public.

Connect with KU Libraries

Like KU Libraries on Facebook  Follow KU Libraries on Twitter  Watch KU Libraries on YouTube  Follow KU Libraries' photo stream on Flickr  Follow KU Libraries on Instagram  Follow KU Libraries on Pinterest

Media contacts

Leah Hallstrom
Communications Specialist

KU Today