Though our buildings are closed, KU Libraries continues to offer services and resources for remote teaching, learning, and research. Please visit for more information.

KU Libraries accepting nominations for 3rd annual open access award

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

The University of Kansas Libraries are now accepting nominations for the third annual Shulenburger Award for Innovation & Advocacy in Scholarly Communication. The award will be granted for exceptional efforts to advance innovations in open sharing and advocacy for positive change in the scholarly communication system:

  • Up to two awards selected from nominations of KU Lawrence faculty/staff members and/or undergraduate or graduate students involved in a faculty-sponsored project and/or to a 
  • KU Lawrence academic department, research center, or school
  • Awards will be between $500 and $2,500
  • The individual awardee may be invited to serve a term on KU's Open Access Advisory Board

Any individual or unit affiliated with the University of Kansas may nominate an individual, department, school or center that demonstrates excellence in this area – self nominations are also accepted. A selection committee consisting of the previous year's winner, KU Lawrence faculty from multiple disciplines, and chaired by senior library administrators will be appointed annually by the dean of KU Libraries to review nominations and make recommendations for final approval by the dean. The winner will be announced during International Open Access Week, October 24-30.

Additional information about the award, including judging criteria and requested nomination materials can be found at

The nomination deadline is Monday, September 19, at 12 p.m. Please submit requested nomination materials to Ada Emmett, head of KU Libraries Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright at

“As demonstrated by previous winners Town Peterson, Marc Greenberg and John Symons, University of Kansas faculty and staff are active participants in efforts to widen access to research results in their disciplines and scholarly societies,” said Ada Emmett, head of the Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright. “This advocacy is of direct benefit to the scholars and citizens of Kansas and beyond. We encourage nominations of KU colleagues—faculty, staff and students—who demonstrate leadership and contribute significantly to the global democratization of access to knowledge as expressed through open access, open science, open data and open education.”

Since the 1990’s, former KU Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor David Shulenburger has advocated, locally and nationally, for open access to the results of research. His efforts to push for innovation and greater equity in the access to scholarly endeavors led to campus-wide conversations between an ever-growing number of faculty supporters and the development of infrastructures to support open access to the scholarly literature published at KU. This long history seeded the growth of widespread faculty support, leading to the 2005 launch of KU ScholarWorks and a Faculty Senate resolution in support of better dissemination practices, and culminating in the passage of the Faculty Senate’s Open Access Policy in 2009.

Last year’s award was presented to John Symons, professor and chair in the Department of Philosophy. Symons spearheaded efforts to move Auslegung, the student journal of philosophy, and the Lindley Lectures archive to the fully accessible KU ScholarWorks. Decades of student and guest lectures are now available due to Symons’ diligence and persistence. Symons also collaboratively launched the international Open Access journals Science, Religion, and Culture and Logos and Episteme.

Connect with KU Libraries

Like KU Libraries on Facebook  Follow KU Libraries on Twitter  Watch KU Libraries on YouTube  Follow KU Libraries' photo stream on Flickr  Follow KU Libraries on Instagram  Follow KU Libraries on Pinterest

Media contacts

Leah Hallstrom
Communications Specialist

KU Today