KU Libraries faculty, staff recognized at annual award celebration

Monday, October 12, 2020

The University of Kansas Libraries are proud to announce the recipients of the libraries’ 2020 faculty and staff awards. Four outstanding employees were formally recognized at the 14th annual Celebration of Excellence event on September 29.

Sally Haines: Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award

The recipient of the 2020 Budig Distinguished Librarian Award is Sally Haines, special collections librarian.

The Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award is presented annually to a library faculty member who demonstrates meritorious professional performance and service. Endowed by the Budigs in 2001, the award is intended to recognize the lifetime achievements of an individual. 

Haines was recognized for her dynamic and engaging years of professional performance, the broad variety of scholarly output and the wide-ranging service she provides to scholars.

Jamene Brooks-Kieffer: Anschutz-Budig Outstanding Librarian Award

The recipient of the 2020 Anschutz-Budig Outstanding Librarian Award is Jamene Brooks-Kieffer, data services librarian. 

The Anschutz-Budig Outstanding Librarian Award is presented annually to a library faculty member who demonstrates outstanding initiative in recent professional performance.

Brooks-Kieffer was selected for her implementation of the Software Carpentry program, which continues to have great impact at KU and among peer institutions across the nation.

Sunita Gandhi and LeAnn Meyer: KU Libraries Staff Excellence Awards

The 2020 KU Libraries Staff Excellence Award winners are Sunita Gandhi, e-resources service specialist in the Acquisitions and Resource Sharing department, and LeAnn Meyer, assistant director of advancement for the Office of Communications and Advancement. 

The Staff Excellence Award is presented to two employees each year who demonstrate a standard of excellence in work and a significant contribution to the University of Kansas Libraries. 

Gandhi was recognized for her incredible work ethic and commendable customer service skills, as well as her instrumental work on KU Libraries’ Social Justice LibGuide.

Meyer was awarded for her advocacy of library initiatives, successful engagement with donors and alumni and unrivaled photography and videography work on behalf of KU Libraries’ outreach efforts.  


Connect with KU Libraries

Like KU Libraries on Facebook  Follow KU Libraries on Twitter  Watch KU Libraries on YouTube  Follow KU Libraries' photo stream on Flickr  Follow KU Libraries on Instagram  Follow KU Libraries on Pinterest

Media contacts

Leah Hallstrom
Communications Specialist

KU Today