• Home
  • Snyder contest 2009 winners

2009 Snyder contest winners

Winners of the Snyder Book Collecting Contest were announced at the awards ceremony on April 10. Dean Lorraine J. Haricombe presented the awards to the students, and Arthur Young, dean of University Libraries and professor emeritus at Northern Illinois University, delivered a keynote address on “Horatio Alger, Jr.: Juvenile Writer, Enduring Icon, and Collectible Author.”

In the undergraduate division, Thayer Bray won first place for his collection, “High and Low: Commix, Art and Their Influence,” and Jacquelyn Bowin won second place for her “Costuming & Sewing Collection.”

In the graduate division, Ailecia Ruscin won first place with her “Gender, Class & Sexuality in Turn-of-the-Century Political and Punk Zines” collection, and Michael Gomez won second place with “It Begins in Wonder: Weird Fiction Past and Present.”

First place winners received $600 cash and $100 gift cards from Jayhawk Ink, a division of the KU Bookstore; second place winners received $400 cash and $50 gift cards from Jayhawk Ink, a division of the KU Bookstore.

Snyder Book Collecting Contest


Media & Publicity
LeAnn Meyer

Contest Entry Information
Kristin Sederstrom

Jayhawk Ink, a division of KU Bookstore
Lisa Eitner

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
KU Today