• Home
  • Snyder contest 2010 winners

2010 Snyder contest winners

Winners of the Snyder Book Collecting Contest were announced at the awards ceremony on April 8. KU Libraries Dean Lorraine J. Haricombe presented the awards to the students, and Nicholas Basbanes, noted author and lecturer on books and aspects of book culture, delivered a keynote address.

In the undergraduate division, Rachel Best won first place for her collection, "Chinese Language and Culture," and Samuel Atherton won second place for "The Atherton Collection of Historical Works."

In the graduate division, Ryan Ellett won first place with his collection, "Return With Us Now: The Rise of the Old Time Radio Hobby," and Susan Thomas won second place with her collection, "From Student to Collector: My Journey with Willa Cather." Tiffany Huggard-Lee received an honorable mention for her collection, "From Demons to Diseases."

Judging this year’s competition were Nicholas Basbanes; Beth Whittaker, head of Spencer Research Library; and Betsy Timmer, a 2007 Snyder winner.

First place winners received $600 cash and $100 gift cards to the Oread bookstore; second place winners received $400 cash and $50 gift cards from the Oread bookstore, and honorable mentions received $100 cash and $25 gift cards from the Oread bookstore.

Snyder Book Collecting Contest


Media & Publicity
LeAnn Meyer

Contest Entry Information
Kristin Sederstrom

Jayhawk Ink, a division of KU Bookstore
Meaghan Conant

KU Today