Databases A-Z

F

  • Provides selected worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Some publisher content is not available to academic institutions. Includes current full text access to Wall Street Journal. (Restricted to 6 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • Identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. The selection process comprises a peer-nominated global faculty of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who rate the best of the articles they read and explain their importance.

    Full Record
  • A digital content management system managed by the Government Printing Office (GPO), which collects and authenticates government information. Information is gathered through three methods: Files submitted by Congress and Federal agencies; Information gathered from Federal agencies web sites; and, Digital files created by scanning previously printed publications. Collections include: Compilation of Presidential Documents ; Congressional Bills; Congressional Documents; Congressional Hearings; Congressional Record; Congressional Reports; Federal Register; Public and Private Laws; Statutes at Large; GAO Reports; and more. All content is indexed with specialized record metadata and full-text keyword searchable.

    Full Record
  • Indexes 340 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.  It was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and  includes the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

     

    Full Record
  • This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for hundreds of journals and books. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to three databases--the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog), and the British Film Institute (Film Index International), and the FIAF international index to film periodicals plus databases.

    Full Record
  • This web-based digital video delivery service allows users to view streaming videos from Films Media Group 24/7. Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.

    Full Record
  • Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that have been translated into English by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a U.S. government agency.  This fully searchable digital edition is the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. The dates of coverage are 1941 to 1996. 

     

    Full Record
  • Foreign firms listed have a substantial investment in American operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary, affiliate or branch.

    Full Record
  • A multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences. Its broad subject areas and international scope make it an ideal stand-alone social science database, as well as a suitable complement for more specialized databases. It is produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS) and is strong in areas such as archeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and sociology. The database contains more than 1 million records, with abstracts in French or English, and descriptors in both languages, and includes coverage of journals, books, conference papers and other documents.

    Full Record
  • Fuente académica is a collection of full-text scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Topics include history, literature, politics, business, current events, economics, biological sciences, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, sociology and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the 2000s. Content is updated on a weekly basis and currently offers the full text for more than 500 publications from 18 countries. Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities