Databases A-Z

L

  • An information service which includes an online searchable archive of articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories on Latin America, including Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America. News reports are synthesized from regional and international sources, mostly from newspaper reports and journal articles. Also includes back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish and RETAnet: Resources for teaching about the Americas. Full Record
  • Latin American Newsstand provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from 11 Latin American countries: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Full Record
  • LawInfoChina.com is an English language legal information database covering laws and regulations, cases, and law journals from the People's Republic of China. "In the database you could find all the laws and administrative regulations, ministerial rules, judicial interpretations of the Supreme People's Court and the Supreme People's Procuratorate, judgments, local regulations and rules, Chinese-foreign treaties and pacts, economic statutes of Hong Kong and Taiwan, legal documentations, as well as the protocols of China's accession to the WTO and the annexes thereof, reports of the Working Committee, Chinese and English texts of the legal documents of the WTO and the amendments to Chinese laws and regulations after China's accession to the WTO." For the Chinese language version, which has additional content coverage, please click here . System requirements: Internet Explorer browser. Full Record
  • Indexes the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.) Full Record
  • Contains full text for more than 300 of the world's scholarly law journals. Full Record
  • Provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Dates of coverage: 1980 to present. Full Record
  • Provides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources. Full Record
  • LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life, the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues, as well as full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, etc. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, and many more. Full Record
  • Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune and often regarded as the world's greatest publisher. From its inception, they set out to make the magazine more topical, daring and exciting than any competitors. Information was presented in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues. Dates of coverage: 1924-1950. Full Record
  • Provides indexing of nearly 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals. Full Record
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) is provided as a free resource from EBSCO Publishing. This bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, cataloging, bibliometrics, information literacy, and digital libraries. Full Record
  • The Lily, the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer. Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts articles in the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also the study of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Full Record
  • Provides a broad spectrum of full-text information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. The Reference Center includes plot summaries, synopses, articles, author biographies, books reviews, poems, short stories and more. Full Record
  • Provides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language-poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries. Individual units run from Anglo-Saxon literature, through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the 18th and 19th centuries right up to the late 20th Century. The geographical span includes England, Scotland, Ireland, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the West Indies, Africa, and South Asia. LION also offers comprehensive cross-searching of EEBO - Early English Books Online, thus bringing together the two leading textual resources for scholars of Early Modern literature. Results from the Quick Search and Search Texts options within Literature Online will include full results from the entire set of EEBO citation data (125,000 titles).

    Full Record
  • Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Includes essays on the history of specific publishing companies. Full Record
  • Full text image-based searchable database of legal publications. Full Record
  • Provides access to two collections of legal treatises: the Missouri Bar Association CLE Library which contains Missouri legal practice materials covering almost 50 topic areas, and the All Treatise Library which contains selected Aspen legal treatises. Topics include bankruptcy, real estate, estate planning and probate, business practice, construction law, elder law, employment discrimination, evidence law, family law, litigation, personal injury, product liability. Full Record
  • This collection brings its users to the teeming streets of 19th century London through posters, penny fiction, chapbooks, maps, cartoons, song sheets, and more. It will interest students of social history, popular culture, language and literature, and urban development. Full Record
  • See Times (London, England) Full Record
  • Search the pages of the most important Western African American newspaper. Dates of coverage: 1934 to 2005. Full Record
  • The Los Angeles Times provides historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues and the development of the American West, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society. Full Record
  • Electronic full-text of journals and books on the Earth sciences that have been published by the Geological Society of London. Specifically, the Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis Online, Geological Society Special Publication series, Engineering Geology Special Publication series, and Geological Society Memoirs. Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities