• Home
  • Find Resources
  • Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z

H

  • CHANT is an on-going project of collections of all Chinese ancient texts, containing 6 databases: 1. Oracular Inscriptions on Tortoise Shells and Bones (Jiaguwen); 2. Excavated Wood/Bamboo and Silk Scripts (Zhu jian bo shu); 3. Database of Bronze Inscriptions (Jin wen); 4. Database of Traditional Chinese Texts: Xian Qin Liang Han (pre-220AD); 5. Database of Traditional Chinese Texts of Weijin, Northern and Southern Dynasties (220-589AD); and 6. Database of the Entire Body of Extant Chinese Encyclopedias (Leishu). Click on ‚ÄúFor IP User Only‚Äù to access. Full Record
  • The Scripta Sinica is one of the largest Chinese full text databases which encompass all core materials of Chinese history and Chinese classics. The database has been compiled since 1984, by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica in Taiwan. Please click on 授權使用 (Authorized users) to access the source. Full Record
  • Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world that regularly contain information on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Many of the citations are linked to full text. Full Record
  • HarpWeek provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th and early 20th century "national newspaper," an important resource for examining America on a cumulative week-to-week basis from 1857-1912. Through this database one can discover news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion of the times. This is an important primary resource for the study of the U.S. Civil War, and the era of reconstruction. (At the "Web Access Agreement" screen, click "I Accept"). Partially funded by the KU Parents' Campaign, an annual giving opportunity for parents of KU students to support KU Libraries. The Parents' Campaign supports projects and initiatives that directly benefit students. Full Record
  • A digital repository of collections (books and journals) of some of the major research libraries in the United States. More than 30% of the content is in the public domain or Creative Commons licensed and is freely available to view, download and print. Items designated with "Full view" are available for download. Please login to HathiTrust in order to download and print content. After you click on login, select University of Kansas as the partner institution, then enter your KU online ID and password. To print pages, first download content to PDF and print from Adobe (or similar) software. See the Libraries' HathiTrust Help & Tutorials for more information.

    Full Record
  • Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text material to topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Sources include encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionaries, magazines, journals, and newspapers. Full Record
  • Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Full Record
  • HeinOnline has law-related subject and title collections that are image-based and fully searchable, meaning that they provide exact page images and enable the researcher to view all pages as they originally appeared in hardcopy--including all charts, graphs, and photographs. The constantly growing collections include the Congressional Documents, Law Journal Library, Intellectual Property Library, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, Session Laws, Legal Classics, and World Trials. Individual titles with numerous volumes are also included, such as Congressional Record, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and English Reports. The Law Journal Library, as well as many other collections, provides comprehensive coverage from the inception of each publication. Full Record
  • A resource for census data, family records and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials. Full Record
  • A bibliographic database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Indexes the journal and book literature. Full Record
  • Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition contains over 37,000 different time-series statistics providing a quantitative view into American history, Colonial Times to the present. Data series address many different topics of the United States, including Colonial, Revolutionary, and Confederate States aspects of American History. The Millennial Edition includes dozens of new topics including slavery, American Indians, and poverty not present in the Bicentennial (1975) Edition. Topics are placed in historical context by accompanying essays written by expert researchers. Data is available for export in Excel or CSV formats for analysis. Standard tables and graphs are available, as well as ability to create custom tables and datasets. Major sections include: Population; Work and Welfare; Economic Structure and Performance; Economic Sectors; and, Governance and International Relations Full Record
  • A full text history reference database featuring content from reference books. Full Record
  • A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Full Record
  • The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is a database containing documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management, non-classified Presidential directives and policy and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources related to Homeland Security. The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Restricted access to the KU community and walk-in users provided through an official partnership agreement with HSDL and GPO. Full Record
  • Hoover's covers public, private, and international companies. It includes company overviews, major industry trends, industry links, and IPO information. Full Record
  • See eHRAF world cultures Full Record
  • Indexes the most important journals in the humanities and social sciences published in North America and Europe from 1907 to 1984. (Restricted to 2 simultaneous users.) Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 7,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities