KU Libraries faculty and staff honored at annual awards reception

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

The 2018 KU Libraries faculty and staff award winners were formally recognized at the 12thannual Celebration of Excellence event on September 20. 

The libraries are delighted to announce the 2018 award recipients.

Tami Albin: Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award

The Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award is presented annually to a library faculty member who demonstrates meritorious professional performance and service. Endowed by the Budigs in 2001, the award is intended to recognize the lifetime achievements of an individual. The recipient of the 2018 Budig Distinguished Librarian Award is Tami Albin, associate librarian. Albin has served in many of roles during her 17 years with KU Libraries, taking on several leadership positions including interim co-director of the Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities and interim head of Instructional Services. Albin is known for having extensive skills in instruction and research support and bringing a positive energy to all projects and consultations.  

Rhonda Houser and Andrea Pitt: KU Libraries Staff Excellence Award

The Staff Excellence Award is presented to two employees each year who demonstrate a standard of excellence in work and a significant contribution to the University of Kansas Libraries. 

The first 2018 KU Libraries Staff Excellence Award recipient is Rhonda Houser, GIS and mapping specialist. Houser was nominated specifically for a project that goes above and beyond her regular duties – building support for and georeferencing more than 5,000 Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps. Houser is well-known for her proactive, professional and collaborative attributes. 

The second 2018 KU Libraries Staff Excellence Award recipient is Andrea Pitt, operations manager at the Murphy Art & Architecture Library. Pitt was nominated for taking on a considerable number of new responsibilities throughout the last year – even becoming chair of the Art Advisory Committee and LibArt program. Praised for her can-do attitude, Pitt is dedicated to improving the usefulness and aesthetics of the Art & Architecture Library. 

Conner Mulkey: Sanders Scholars Program Award

The Sanders Scholars Program Award was created through a gift from William J. Crowe and his wife Nancy P. Sanders, in memory of Nancy’s parents. The award provides funding for a graduate or undergraduate student working with a librarian mentor in the libraries. The recipient of the Sanders Scholars Program award is Conner Mulkey, community engagement intern. Mulkey works with Sarah Goodwin Thiel, community and faculty engagement librarian, playing an integral role in exhibition development and installation.

Natalie Mahan and Jill Becker: Mary McCorison Rosenbloom Award

Mary McCorison Rosenblum was a valued colleague and dear friend to KU Libraries and the university community. In recognition of her commitment to teaching and library instruction, her family, friends and colleagues established this award in her memory. The recipients of the 2018 Mary McCorison Rosenblum Special Initiative Fund Award are Natalie Mahan, undergraduate learning specialist,and Jill Becker, head of the Center for Undergraduate Initiatives and Engagement. Mahan and Becker will use this key funding to pilot an information literacy assessment in University 101 to measure student learning. Their project will advance library efforts to create diverse, strategic and enduring experiences that support student success and retention by providing insight into students’ information literacy abilities. 


Connect with KU Libraries

Like KU Libraries on Facebook  Follow KU Libraries on Twitter  Watch KU Libraries on YouTube  Follow KU Libraries' photo stream on Flickr  Follow KU Libraries on Instagram  Follow KU Libraries on Pinterest

Media contacts

Leah Hallstrom
Communications Specialist

KU Today