KU Libraries now accepting nominations for open access award

The David Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright is now accepting nominations for the annual Shulenburger Award for Innovation & Advocacy in Scholarly Communication.

Established in 2014 through a gift by former KU Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor David Shulenburger, the Shulenburger Award recognizes KU faculty, staff, students and academic departments who champion open access and innovation in scholarly communication. 

Up to two individuals or departments will be selected from nominations for award amounts between $500 and $2,500. Individual awardees may be invited to serve on KU's Open Access Advisory Board. 

“Scholarly publishing is an extremely dynamic space, and open access has become a fixture in it, often due to the leadership of researchers, including those at KU,” said Josh Bolick, head of the Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright. “We want to recognize their contributions as we continue to face real challenges to building a more open and inclusive future. The Shulenburger Award is a way that we can honor and promote their work.”

Nominations, including self-nominations, will be accepted until Monday, September 19. For more information, please visit our website or email Josh Bolick.