Anschutz-Budig Outstanding Librarian Award

This $2,000 award is presented annually to a library faculty member who demonstrates outstanding initiative in recent professional performance.


The primary criterion for selection of the recipient is a strong, recent record of exceptional professional performance, especially as it pertains to the creation and implementation of new initiatives or projects that advance the libraries’ vision and mission. The award is intended to recognize the accomplishments and achievements of an individual during the prior two-year period (past two fiscal years).


To be eligible for nomination, a librarian must have a faculty rank and served on the library faculty at the University of Kansas for at least one year prior to the date nominations are due: Friday, October 18, 2024 by 5 p.m. See eligible faculty to nominate.

Nomination Procedures

A call for nominations will be made annually by the Libraries administration. Any person or group of persons affiliated with the University of Kansas may nominate an individual. Nominators are asked to supply the following information to the Award Committee:

  • Letter (not to exceed two pages) explaining the nominee's achievements and credentials that qualify them for the award
  • List of three names and contact information for additional information, i.e. colleagues who can comment on the nominee's contributions. No more than one reference should be from outside the libraries.

The Awards Manager will obtain CV from the nominee's supervisor.

Nominations will remain active for two years. Librarians not selected in their first year of nomination will be reconsidered for a second time along with the newly nominated candidates. Previous nominators will be asked to update their nominations to reflect any additional accomplishments by the nominee. 

Please submit nominations using this webform.


An Award Committee recommended by the Libraries Leadership Team will consist of four Librarians, two members who will serve a one-year appointment and two members who will serve a two-year appointment.  The Awards Manager will provide administrative support to all aspects of the awards process, and related committee assistance as needed. The Award Committee will review nominations and provide a final report detailing the strengths of all nominees to the Dean. This committee also shares responsibility for the Gretchen and Gene A. Budig Distinguished Librarian Award. Neither a nominator nor any nominee (including previous year non-recipients being reconsidered) is eligible to serve on the Award Committee. 

In the event that less than two qualified nominations are received, the award will be suspended until the following year, with any carryover nominations considered at that time.

In making its final report, the Award Committee will apply the criteria stated in the description of the Award.   

All nomination materials will be considered confidential and will be retained in the Library Administrative Office files.

Previous Award Winners

  • 2023 - None
  • 2022 - Jill Becker, Assistant Librarian
  • 2021 - Amalia Monroe-Gulick, Librarian
  • 2020 - Jamene Brooks-Kieffer, Associate Librarian
  • 2019 - Betsaida Reyes, Associate Librarian
  • 2018 - None
  • 2017 - Angela Rathmel, Associate Librarian
  • 2016 - Julie Petr, Associate Librarian
  • 2015 - Brian Rosenblum, Associate Librarian
  • 2014 - Lars Leon, Librarian
  • 2013 - Whitney Baker, Librarian
  • 2012 - Fran Devlin, Librarian
  • 2011 - Sarah Goodwin Thiel, Associate Librarian