Freely-accessible databases

Contains editorially-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management.

A free online source that includes two databases: African Women Bibliographic Database and Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database. The former has citations for English language articles, monographs, conference papers, theses, etc. published since 1986. The latter provides access to nearly 50,000 English language citations to articles published in 450 journals since the mid-19th century. 

African Development Indicators (ADI) is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.

This freely accessible database indexes thousands of theses and dissertations by American universities from 1902 to the present and provides links to full text where available.

Contains the full text of over 450 US prison newspapers, including the Angolite and San Quentin News.

Detailed archival collection descriptions concerning historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials.

Collection of electronic pre-prints, and e-print service, in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science and computer science.

Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles. Also includes the contents of two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'art et d'archéolgie (1973-1989) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975-1989).

Search the collection of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.

Provides immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Arranged by era and topic, this free website contains important documents in African-American history, with the earliest from 1790. Unlike other primary source collections, these are arranged by topic, making it very easy to use. Topics range from slavery, individuals, laws and legislation, and organizations. Although not comprehensive, this is an excellent starting point. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries for anyone studying U.S. Black history.

This collection brings together 75,000 pages from periodicals published by Black Americans from the early 1900s to the 1980s. It also includes select titles from Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean that reflect the global dimensions of the Black freedom struggle.

The video archive includes all programming from the three C-SPAN's networks.  Coverage spans Congressional sessions from 1987-present with special indexing by person with full text transcripts.  Other access points include: subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, location, congressional calendar, and programming date/time.

Covers electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the United States Federal Government published since 1976.

This very elaborate multi-tiered database has more than 20,000 Renaissance Documents (inventories, guide books, lives of artists, archival documents, etc.) related to more than 10,000 Antique Monuments (sculptures, architecture, vases, etc.) that are accompanied by 30,000 photographs or illustrations. The collection of images includes: drawings, sketchbooks, paintings, engravings, sculpture, medals, applied arts, etc. The database can be utilized for its collection of images, but more extensive information is provided in the database. Monuments, their preservation history, provenance history, and other relevant information are accompanied by bibliographic citations.

The catalog of the Center for Research Libraries which has a large collection of primary sources and other unique materials. CRL collections are available via Interlibrary Loan.

English interface

Japanese interface

 

CiNii Research, provided by the National Institute of Informatics (NII), is a simple interface that allows users to cross-search not only books and journal articles but also research data from external collaborating institutions and institutional repositories. See the list of databases incorporated in CiNii Research.

Crossref.org is an authoritative source for looking up an article’s DOI or other metadata.  A simple search is available through this interface and more complex searches may be submitted via this web form.

DataCite is an authoritative source for looking up an article’s DOI or other metadata.

This is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.  KU's Kenneth Spencer Research Library is a contributing partner. 

Covers free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages.

A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. It focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interactions with other societies. From the biographies of notable men and women in every field of endeavor to descriptions of all Iranian cities and monuments (ancient and modern), from Zoroastrian scriptures to Jewish shrines and Islamic rituals, from Persian classics to modern novels, from Iranian flora and fauna to Persian music and folklore, all aspect of life in Iranian and related cultural areas are studied and described in articles presenting the current state of research in their texts and appended bibliographies.

Provides access to worldwide patent information. Patents by member states of the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Organization are included. Years of coverage and availability of full text and images vary by country.

Records for all doctoral theses awarded by UK higher education institutions and free access to the full-text to as many theses as possible; coordinated by the British Library.  Records date back to 1800.

EBSEES is a free citation database for research on the USSR and the Communist countries of Eastern Europe. It indexes research publications in a fast-changing geopolitical area which consisted of 9 states in 1989 and now, after the break-up of the USSR, Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia, comprises 27 independent countries.

This bibliographic database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Based the authoritative bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750, created at John Carter Brown Library.  It covers the history of European exploration, Native American peoples, and a wide range of subject areas from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.

A digital content management system managed by the Government Printing Office (GPO), which collects and authenticates government information. Information is gathered through three methods: Files submitted by Congress and Federal agencies; Information gathered from Federal agencies web sites; and, Digital files created by scanning previously printed publications. Collections include: Compilation of Presidential Documents ; Congressional Bills; Congressional Documents; Congressional Hearings; Congressional Record; Congressional Reports; Federal Register; Public and Private Laws; Statutes at Large; GAO Reports; and more. 

The World Bank's portal for analysis of current economic trends, and economic and financial indicators. It features up-to-date analysis on global economic conditions, including a daily brief and event-driven focus reports, direct access to high-frequency datasets via Quick Query, forecasts for commodity prices and main macroeconomic indicators for over 130 countries.

A tool for searching the full text of books.  For each book and depending on the permission of the author or the publisher you will be able to see a few sentences of your search term in context, a few sample pages or the full book. Links provided to book reviews, synopses, sources to purchase the book, and to libraries that hold the books.

This computer-generated news site aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together.

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment including topics such as global warming, recycling, and alternate fuel sources. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, it includes the positive and the negative ways humans affect ecology.

This resource is supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Full-text scholarly monographs covering all areas of history, available originally and exclusively as digital books, presented by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association.

A digital repository of collections (books and journals) of some of the major research libraries in the United States. More than 30% of the content is in the public domain or Creative Commons licensed and is freely available to view, download and print. Items designated with "Full view" are available for download. Please login to HathiTrust in order to download and print content. After you click on login, select University of Kansas as the partner institution, then enter your KU online ID and password. To print pages, first download content to PDF and print from Adobe (or similar) software. See the Libraries' HathiTrust Help & Tutorials for more information.

This collects aims to preserve and make accessible the artistic output of AIDS activists with a particular focus on those who have remained in the margins of these histories. The collection will eventually include trans*, woman, and BIPOC artists whose work has yet to be discovered.



 

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Find publications of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) which is an intergovernmental organization focused on global economic security.

This collection chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of independent alternative presses. Among the broad interest groups covered are American youth. Feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, and members of the LGBT communities.

Presently contains over 20,000 work of art records which are accompanied by over sixty thousand images in color and black and white. The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Includes manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. 

A particle physics database of journal articles, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers, and theses. It has been indexed and maintained by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center and collaborating physics institutions since the late 1960s.  When possible each record links to full text, related experiments, references, reaction data, and conference information.

Provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Anyone may search the database however, only KU affiliates may set-up the necessary account to download data.

For more information, contact Jamene Brooks Kieffer, ICPSR liaison (askalib@ku.edu).

IRDB, which superseded JAIRO in April 2019, harvests the metadata of academic resources (journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.) accumulated in academic institutional repositories in Japan. The accumulated metadata are searchable in IRDB as well as other academic platforms, such as CiNii, NDL Search, and Open AIRE.

English Version

Includes varied coverage for the years 2002-2012. Other years are covered in the print edition with the same title. Among the titles indexed are: Kansas!, Kansas History, Southeast Kansas Living.

This resource is supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

KU ScholarWorks is an open access digital repository for scholarly work created by the faculty and staff of the University of Kansas. KU ScholarWorks makes important research available to a wider audience and helps assure its long-term preservation.

Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, cataloging, bibliometrics, information literacy, and digital libraries.  A free resource from EBSCO Publishing.

A project to digitize public domain journals in the history of film, radio, and sound recordings covering the years 1903 to 1995.

An authoritative source of general information on health topics provided from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health and other government agencies and health-related organizations. It includes information on diseases and conditions, lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and the latest health news.

A NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. The databases cover all the major journals, many minor journals, conference proceedings, several observatory reports and newsletters, many NASA reports, and PhD theses.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. Types of information included: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos - created or funded by NASA.

NISCAIR Online Periodicals Repository provides full text articles from research journals published by CSIR-NISCAIR. The articles in these journals are published under a CC BY-NC-ND license.

Search the NLR's electronic catalog for books 1708-present.  The NLR also has many specialized catalogs for different types of materials (e.g.  journals, newspapers, documents, manuscripts, etc.) as well as a growing repository for digital objects

Provides indexing and abstracts to technical reports from both U.S. and non-U.S. sponsored research. Compiled by the U.S. National Technical Information Service, the database covers topics in the sciences, engineering, business, and social sciences. Users must register with NTRL and accept terms and conditions to gain access.  (Restricted to 10 downloads per session.)

Provides links to full-text where available for more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.

Contains records of open archive digital resources that lead to digitized books, articles, audio & video files, data sets, theses and more. Freely available material accessible through institutional repositories like KU ScholarWorks are searched through OAIster.

OATD.org provides open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,654,285 theses and dissertations.

Includes original manuscripts and first editions by prominent Orthodox composers.  Browse or search for composers, liturgical services, chants, and chorus types.

The site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in science, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS since 1972.

Databases of U.S. patents, including patent grants (full text since 1976, full-page images since 1790) and patent applications (published since 15 March 2001). To view the patent images, a plug-in is required. For links to free TIFF plug-ins, please click here.

Provides information on undergraduate and graduate programs at colleges and universities.  Includes scholarship information and test prep materials.

The Bibliography of Polish Literature includes information about Polish authors, world literature, literary theory, themes, criticism, theater, film, literary life, and Polish actors and directors. The bibliography indexes books, articles, reviews, interviews, plays, as well as TV and radio broadcasts, providing annotations and covering the years 1988-2003.

Consists of: a) an index beginning in 1980 to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library; b) a catalog of the books and a/v materials acquired by the RIBA Library; c) a catalog of the RIBA Library Photographs Collection; d) a catalog of drawings and other materials acquired by the RIBA Library Drawings Collection since 1986, with brief entries for all earlier acquisitions; e) a catalog of the RIBA Library Manuscripts Collection; f) a biographical database of architects. The RIBA Library was established in 1834. 

Search the RSL's electronic catalog for books 1450-present, manuscripts, dissertations, maps, music, periodicals, microfilm, etc. The RSL also has  separate catalogs for specialized collections  (art, maps, musical scores, rare books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, newspapers, foreign literature, etc.) as well as a growing repository for digital objects

An electronic virtual library covering a selected collection of scientific journals of Latin America, the Caribbean countries and Spain. As the project develops, new journal titles will be added in the library collection. The full-text content is in English, Portuguese and/or Spanish. 

Provides early access to scholarship by publishing article abstracts and the full-text access to preprints/working papers for leading scholarly journals. The SSRN includes author contact information to facilitate scholarly communication. The networks that make up the SSRN include: accounting; cognitive science; corporate; economics; entrepreneurship; financial; health; information; leadership; legal; management; marketing; negotiations; political; social insurance; classics; English and American literature; philosophy.

A reference work and publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. 

This collection contains documents that detail the extensive history of student protest in the United States. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States.

Contains hundreds of personal letters, diaries, photos, and maps from the collections of the Kansas State Historical Society and the Kansas Collection of the Spencer Research Library at the University of Kansas. Includes a tutorial for Territorial Kansas history with lesson plans.

This collection contains documents that detail the extensive history of student protest in the United States. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States.

A portal that retrieves data series from the United Nations System and other international organizations. Sources include FAO, ILO, WHO, and the Human Development Report. Country profiles and glossaries are also provided.

Includes the records of books and journals held in university libraries throughout Japan.

WebCat plus is not updated. Users are recommended to use CiNii Research.

Portal for the World Bank Development Data Development Group that coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Topics include: agriculture, environment, financial sector, health, poverty, and many more.

The National Yiddish Book Center offers online access to the full texts of nearly 11,000 out-of-print Yiddish titles. Browse, read, download or print any or all of these books, free of charge. These titles were scanned under the auspices of the Steven Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library, and have been made available online through the Internet Archive.