Databases A-Z

B

  • The full text of Baltimore's African American newspaper from 1893 to 1988. 

    Full Record
  • Due to budget constraints, Berg fashion library has been cancelled as of June 30, 2015. 

    If you have questions or concerns, please contact us.

    Full Record
  • Covers all subjects on the humanities and the social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. dating back as far back as 1791.

    Full Record
  • The Royal Historical Society's online bibliography provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. 

    Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles. Also includes the contents of two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'art et d'archéolgie (1973-1989) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975-1989).

    Full Record
  • Search the collection of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.

    Full Record
  • Indexes more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

    Full Record
  • Due to budget constraints, this resource has been cancelled and will be unavailable after January 31, 2016. 

    Alternative resources include Web of Science and Zoological Record.

    If you have questions or concerns, contact us.

    Full Record
  • Provides immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

    Full Record
  • Contains the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

    Full Record
  • Access over 82,000 pages and an estimated 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.

    Full Record
  • Access over 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major African American leaders, teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers and other figures covering 250 years of history.

    Full Record
  • Bloomberg BNA (formerly BNA Premier) provides case reporting, expert analysis, and current developments in health care, business, labor relations, law, economics, taxation, environmental protection, safety, and other public policy and regulatory issues.

    Full Record
  • Provides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.

    Full Record
  • Enciclopedia Moderna includes over 50,000 articles plus 4,200 images. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it's the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Britannica Escolar Online provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia with 2,000 articles, images, videos, an atlas, and learning materials specifically designed for younger students.  Made possible through a State Library of Kansas contract.

    Full Record
  • An App for your iPad or Android tablet that lets you download and browse scholarly journals using your KU Online ID and password.  

    Full Record
  • Browse scholarly journals in a virtual library.  Brings all the benefits mobile users enjoy to the web based environment, extending access to desktop and laptop devices.  Highlights include expanded data sources, abstracts, ILL Integration, EndNote Integration, transformative URLs, and ability to create and share reading lists.

    Full Record
  • BuildingGreen Suite offers articles, case studies and links to information on sustainable design issues, strategies, green building products, and current projects.

    Full Record
  • Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to local business news in Kansas City and 39 other cities around the U.S. with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses. The integrated archival files contain more than 750,000 business news articles published since 1996 in all 40 city business journals. This database provides an exact replica of the weekly newspaper, as well as special publications produced by this company including "Best Places to Work" and the popular "Book of Lists" for each city. Funded by the Johnson County Education and Research Triangle.

    Full Record
  • Indexing and abstracts covering business related, peer reviewed journals, books, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports.

    Full Record

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
KU Today