Databases A-Z

Expert analysts provide reports for over 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents market research and industry information, and each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format. Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.

KU has coverage for the most current year for the unlimited access to the following collections:

700+ US NAICS Industry Reports; 700+ US NAICS Industry iExpert Summaries; NEW 750+ US Specialized Industry Reports; NEW 750+ US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries; 280+ China CICS Industry Reports; 70+ Global Industry Report

Provides access to IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL).  Includes full-text documents; IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, and conference proceedings; all approved and published IEEE standards; complete backfile to 1988 and select content back to 1913; INSPEC abstract/citation records. KU's subscription does not include full text access to continuing education courses (multi-media), IEEE books (bibliographic information only) and draft standards.  (Restricted to 15 simultaneous users.)

See: Janes: Air and Space

See: Janes: Air and Space

See: Janes: Air and Space

Provides access to authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases, including the following: International Financial Statistics: All aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948. -- Direction of Trade: Value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980. -- Balance of Payments: International economic transactions data and International Investment Position, with history to 1960. -- Government Finance Statistics: Budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990. -- Coordinated Portfolio Investment Statistics: Countries' year-end holdings of portfolio investment securities. Users will be prompted to download a plugin entitled Microsoft Silverlight to use these products.

Find publications of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) which is an intergovernmental organization focused on global economic security.

From firsthand reporting in refugee camps to government-level analysis on migration patterns, this resource covers controversial issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.

This collection chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of independent alternative presses. Among the broad interest groups covered are American youth. Feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, and members of the LGBT communities.

See: The Index of Medieval Art

Presently contains over 20,000 work of art records which are accompanied by over sixty thousand images in color and black and white. The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Includes manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. 

Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

Search sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library dating from the 1500s through the 1990s.  Materials range from maps to manuscripts to newspapers and cover all of North America. 

American Indian Newspapers -  Publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

See: Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

See: Gale OneFile: News

A particle physics database of journal articles, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers, and theses. It has been indexed and maintained by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center and collaborating physics institutions since the late 1960s.  When possible each record links to full text, related experiments, references, reaction data, and conference information.

Provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Anyone may search the database, however, KU affiliates may set-up a ICPSR Researcher Passport by using the “Access through your institution” via InCommon federation, to access datasets.

For more information, contact Jamene Brooks Kieffer, ICPSR liaison (askalib@ku.edu).

Provides an up to date comprehensive interdisciplinary bibliography of materials published about Africa and African diaspora.

A basic resource for research in the fields of theatre and dance.  Indexes more than 170 full-text journals and more than 360 full-text books.

This collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania. It is an important resource for those researching and studying Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Politics, Sociology and Statistical Studies.  Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

See: Music Periodicals Database.

See: Performing Arts Periodicals Database

Indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450-1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

This online service for journal content is published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Users can also find pre-prints from eprintweb.org (based on arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorials and news from IOP community websites.

Contains the texts of over 6000 opera arias and art songs rendered in the International Phonetic Alphabet notation.

See: Roper iPoll

Contains documents from the National Archives at Kew, UK. Selected by Dr. Charles Tripp, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, these documents cover the political and administrative history of the modern state which has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia.

IRDB, which superseded JAIRO in April 2019, harvests the metadata of academic resources (journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.) accumulated in academic institutional repositories in Japan. The accumulated metadata are searchable in IRDB as well as other academic platforms, such as CiNii, NDL Search, and Open AIRE.

English Version

The historical Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more.

See: EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)

Issues & Controversies presents articles in pro/con format that are supported by statistics, timelines, and primary sources. Many issues feature original videos and educator resources, as well as debate videos, newspaper editorials, audio content, and breaking news.

Provides access to an online bibliography for articles, essays, books, and reviews for the study of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Also includes online access to Iter Italicum, a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts, and the International Directory of Scholars, a listing of scholars in the field.